9 Replies Latest reply: May 16, 2016 2:23 PM by michal perry RSS

week of year time series data

michal perry

Hi,

I am new to datawatch Designer, appriciate your support.

the date column in the data that I want to visualize is in a week of year basis (for example: 112016 which means week 11 of year 2016).

is it possible to define this column as the time series column and display it as x axis in the line graph and other visualizations? I couldn't find any example for it in your documentation

If not what is the best way to visualize it?

thanks!

• Re: week of year time series data
          mperez

Hi Michael Perry,

We're not sure if this is possible in Designer right now as this was not included in the format for Time Series Data or there are no ways to customize the format to view Week/Year yet.

We'll try to look for possible workaround for this but if there's none, we can create an enhancement request to add this feature in future release.

Hope this helps.

Thanks.

Migz.

michal perry

Hi,

thanks for your reply, it indeed could be great to have it implemented.

Also, wanted to note that the week in year is sometimes defined differently

in different organisations. For example: I am Intel employee and our work

week in year isn't always aligned with the calendar week.

Anyway, my data is already in intel ww granularity (for example: 201601,

201602, ...) and it could be great if i could use it as a time series data

type.

Regards, Michal.

On Mon, May 9, 2016 at 7:45 PM, mperez <

Theo Klemming

Hi Michal

To use the "true" timeseries visualizations, there must be a column in your data that can be understood as a complete date, like for example 2016-05-10 (May 10, 2016), optionally also including a time, like for example 2016-05-10 10:11:03.

However, when you have YearWeek value like you describe, you can still create a line graph or a bar chart from your values across time. Assuming you have values like these, where both columns are numeric: