14 Replies Latest reply: Sep 13, 2016 3:48 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Older versions of monarch

Richard Steinmetz

I am a consultant which causes me to see a lot of different financial systems, many of which benefit from Monarch.  I've introduced the product to a number of companies.   I am currently at a company that does not have any familiarity with monarch and I am having trouble convincing them to buy a pricey current version of the product.  To this end, I am looking at buying an inexpensive older version and once they see what it can do, they likely will buy one or more new versions.

I have an opportunity to buy version 8 at a very inexpensive price and would like to know the difference between version 8 and 8 Pro as well as any major deficiencies in 8.0. 

Also, is version 9.0 better than version 8.0 Pro

thank you

• Re: Older versions of monarch
          Joseph Territo

Richard,

I can say that the best older version I used was definitely Monarch 10.5 Pro, which at a time was the de facto choice for Monarch for many years.

However, currently anything older than version 12 I do not believe is supported any more by Datawatch.

Having said that, there have been significant improvements in their software.

They do offer a trial of their newer software Monarch v13 as well as their Desktop Designer for visual analytics, and I would encourage you give those a whirl to see the differences as they are quite vast.

I am sure others here can speak to the advantages of the newer versions vs 8 and 9.

I believe the main difference in the older Monarch versions between Standard and Pro was the ability to save projects vs having to open models and reports each time.

Regards,

Joe

Olly Bond

Hello Richard,

I'm struggling with hotel wifi on my phone here so this will be too short and full of typos, but as Joe suggests, 10.5 Pro was almost perfect software and if you find a copy, buy it.