3 Replies Latest reply: Apr 30, 2015 8:17 AM by Olly Bond RSS

"Maximum Record Length Exceeded" While Creating or Adjusting a Template

Janelle Coyle

Hello,

I've been experiencing the error message "Maximum Record Length Exceeded" quite often when adjusting models recently. I've been using Monarch for several months and have rarely seen the error until now. It seems almost any time I try to either make a change to an existing Template or create a brand new one, when defining the fields, the error message displays before I can even indicate the field length. I've worked with various model files, conducting the same exact process steps prior to this when this error did not display so I'm not sure what changed to cause it to start happening?

I've also experienced multiple occurrences of the application sending Error Reports regarding my activity, which happens to be exactly when I'm observing the error message explained above.

Any and all helpful feedback is greatly appreciated! Some of the models I'm working on are rather time-sensitive as well so a swift response would be even more greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Janelle Coyle

Message was edited by: Janelle Coyle

• Re: "Maximum Record Length Exceeded" While Creating or Adjusting a Template
          Olly Bond

Hello Janelle,

Monarch lets you muck around with data really nicely, but under the hood, it's storing it all for you as an Access database. That basically limits each row of the main table to 254 fields, with a total data length of 4000 characters. Each numeric field takes 18 characters. If you have Memo fields these don't count towards the limit, Character fields are limited to 254.

Monarch v12 scales this up - it uses a local SQL database, which allows 512 fields. I haven't checked if the overall total field width has increased - I'm sure that Pat Wall, the Community Manager, can help with the technical references if needed.