2 Replies Latest reply: Mar 19, 2015 9:28 PM by Grant Perkins RSS

Monarch Template Question

Angela Nall

I'm new to Monarch and this be a simple question but I have a report that has today's activity as well as the previous month's activity. For example, the report may be 10 pages long and the first 3 pages is today's activity so the header shows Report- today. On page 4, when the monthly data starts, the header shows Report - month end. How do I get the data to pull everything after the month-end header? Right now it's pulling data from the entire report and I don't need the today's data.

Thanks for any help!

• Re: Monarch Template Question
          Olly Bond

Hello Angela,

There's a setting called Cleared By which is helpful, introduced in v10 or v11 I think. This lets you set the heading to stop appearing after a template appears, so that you can then filter what you need in the table.

Best wishes,

Olly

• Re: Monarch Template Question
            Grant Perkins

Hi Angela,

There are 2 generic approaches to this requirement. There may also be something specific related to the report layout and how you might trap the data only in the section you need but that's difficult to assess without seeing the report.

The 2 generic approaches are:

1. Look for specific data characteristics in fields in the detail template that only occur in the sections you want to include.

My impression here is that this may not be possible with your report since it successfully pulls everything including "today" but there may be something you could use that would skip today's records. It might be in field or, possibly though rare, something that appears in front of the data in the row. See the Advanced Properties, "preceding string" options. In certain circumstances that might offer a way to include or exclude entire records no matter that the Template would try to pick them.