5 Replies Latest reply: Mar 13, 2015 7:12 AM by Ben Anderson RSS

Having trouble with Floating Traps

Ben Anderson

I am fairly new to Monarch and mostly self taught at this point. But I am having an issue grabbing some data from a PDF file.

I have a set of invoices and 99% of them, the model I created pulls in the data just fine. However, there are about 17 files that have a slight difference. Mainly the dollar sign I was using in my trap moves a space to the left or to the right. I believe that a Floating trap is the way to go here (unless someone has any ideas), but I cannot seem to get it to work for all 17 files. Again, I am fairly new to Monarch so please be gentle with me. Ha ha ha.

But seriously, any help anyone can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Ben

• Re: Having trouble with Floating Traps
          Olly Bond

Hello Ben,

(If you want us Monarch Experts to build a model for you, we can, but we charge a modest fee for this.)

Floating traps can be tricky - as the trap definition template has to match the sample line exactly, so editing the template to handle errors can be a pain. They also prevent you from using the Numeric Or | trap. So unless this $ sign is crucial - unless it's the only way you can get a handle on the total line of the invoice - my first thought would be to try to rework the template so it doesn't need it.

You might find the decimal point, or the pattern of numbers and spaces like .ÑÑß let you avoid it.

Best wishes,

Olly

Ben Anderson

Thank you, Olly. Below is the section of invoice I am concerned with.

Description                                  Total  Sales Tax  Tax %

Grass Cut Initial Lot 90 x 60                                        

1 EACH @ $100                            $100.00        $.00    .00

Photos                                                              

9 EACH @ $1.05                              $9.45        $.00    .00

Previously I had the Trap and Sample lines like this: