8 Replies Latest reply: Feb 26, 2015 4:01 PM by Grant Perkins RSS

Problem exporting in Datawatch Modeler v12.0.5 - Path is not of a legal form

Robert Niesen

I'm new to using Datawatch Modeler after having used Monarch Professional 10.5 for about 5 years.  I'm having problems doing exports.  Was able to export just fine yesterday, but today I can't get them to work.  I'm getting a message that the export failed saying "The path is not of a legal form."  I don't understand this, because the directory I'm sending the export to is the default path that is assigned by Modeler when you install it.  I'd appreciate any help anyone can provide.

• Re: Problem exporting in Datawatch Modeler v12.0.5 - Path is not of a legal form
          Lovely Gonzaga

Hi Robert,

We can try to replicate this issue. If you send the files to support@datawatch.com, then we can try your files on our end and verify the error.

Thanks,

Lovely Gonzaga

Datawatch Global Support

• Re: Problem exporting in Datawatch Modeler v12.0.5 - Path is not of a legal form
            Bernadette Caritativo

Hi Robert,

Is it a different export from yesterday? Does the file name contains special/invalid characters?

If you are exporting to a file server, it could be that at that moment it is inaccessible.

Regards,

Bernadette

Robert Niesen

I’m not sure what the problem was before, but I’m now able to successfully export summaries.

Regards,

Robert Niesen

Olly Bond

Hello Robert,

In Monarch, you can call your summary a name like "Betty's Music Store", and when you export this to Excel then Monarch does a really good job of turning this into something that Excel allows as a worksheet name like "Betty_s_Music_Store". When you export summaries, you can tell Monarch to make a new file for each key value, or for each filter, so Monarch has to work pretty hard to turn the names you chose for these, or which appear in your data, into valid worksheet table names, or valid Windows file names.