2 Replies Latest reply: Aug 22, 2014 8:52 PM by DataExploiter _ RSS

what is difference between Monarch  and datawatch?

sree b

what is difference between Monarch  and datawatch?

i'm a beginner for datawatch where can i find the  details?

any tutorial for this?

• Re: what is difference between Monarch  and datawatch?
          Olly Bond

Hello Sree,

Datawatch Desktop combines two products - Designer and Modeler. Modeler is what used to be called Monarch - it's a tool that lets you extract data from just about any source. Monarch was never very good at making charts or graphs from the data - most of us just used to export the results into Excel and make the graphs there. A year ago, Datawatch bought Panopticon, and that software has become Designer. Now, you can get "data at rest" from anywhere (using Modeler), and bring it into Designer where you can turn it into interactive dashboards. Designer has a strong background in the financial markets,and so is also able to combine "data at rest" (like Excel files, database lookups) with "real-time data" (from streaming feeds like market prices). So you can make a dashboard that is always up to date with the latest information.

If you'd like a tutorial, there's a blog post I wrote a few years back (before Datawatch bought Panopticon) which takes you through the steps of capturing report data in Monarch and making a dashboard in another tool. It's here: Greenbar Analytics - A worked example - I promise to update it soon with Modeler and Designer...

Best wishes,

Olly

• Re: what is difference between Monarch  and datawatch?
            DataExploiter _

Hi Sree

Datawatch desktop is like having Monarch/Modeler on steroids and more. I say this for many reasons.