5 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:14 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

SQL Queries and locking tables

ZJSoule _

Hello all,

I am starting to venture into the world of SQL databases.  I have been granted read access to a test environment of our production system.  I have the ODBC connections set up and I can access the tables. 

My question is this:  When I am querying these tables, am I locking them?  I assume that once the table has been loaded, Monarch releases it (but I could be wrong).  Is the table being locked while it's loading?  This is a concern since the end goal is to pull a significant amount of data, and I wouldn't want to keep production tables locked for any real length of time.

Any info is appreciated!

Zach

• SQL Queries and locking tables
          Olly Bond

Hello Zach,

I'm no programmer, nor a DBA, but I'd always worry about the load on a production system. It might crash, which has a cost in recovery time, or it might slow up, which has a cost in annoying lots of users, or you might be paying more for CPU usage on a mainframe, which has a rather large cost 

Most BI and reporting is pretty functional - it aims to support human decision making, and most of us have to make decisions in reasonable human time frames. There's very little advantage to be gained in querying real time production data, unless you have the ability to influence events based on real time decisions. Ordering more parts for a widgets factory, or hiring someone, or filing your year-end accounts, don't need real time BI.

Many production systems are running 24/7 but don't have any users logged in for twelve hours overnight. This is quite handy to backup your data, or make some system changes without impacting users, but it's also useful to run off all the standard reports you need. Then let Monarch do the work of parsing, joining, splitting, and delivering the data you need to the people who need it.

Best wishes,

Olly

ZJSoule _

Olly,