1 Reply Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:14 AM by Steve Caiels RSS

How do you automate Monarch Utility in Data Pump?

sapnerd _

I'm looking to automate the preparation of a wide (more than 4000 continuous characters) .txt file which I currently do in 2 passes of Monarch Utility.

gid=MSS Managers

gdesc=MSS Managers Group

user=HV22587;TW02933;GM02792;CE53240;AM58066;NC02992;RR50254;FN21938;RF40160;CB22589;PG08933;SP21350;FV83236;KL06820;MW50984;GH26148;SH82962;EM21321;HZ27589;IS21618;AB28877;JI22349;RW21116;SR50589;JL31409;JP02151;CL01663;MH20817;AB01072;SE21559;CS03572;AB02246;SK22730;ES24945;GL72234;

/CODE

e.g.

pass 1 replace all instances of "=" with a carriage return and a space (ascii /13/10)

pass 2 replace all instances of ";" with a carriage return and a space (ascii /13/10)

How do I go about telling Data Pump to do this as part of my process? I'm not a programmer but have heard I might need a batch file or a script of some sort.

Can anybody help me with this?

• How do you automate Monarch Utility in Data Pump?
          Steve Caiels

[SIZE=3]Hi SapNerd,[/SIZE][/FONT]

[SIZE=3]One method is to create a batch file as you suggest, then run the batch file by calling it as a pre-process script.  NOTE: It should be a pre-process rather than a pre-export script.[/SIZE][/FONT]

[SIZE=3]Data Pump determines the list of files that it will run against as the process is launched, but after a pre-process script.  By creating a prepped file, that shares a wildcard name with the original input file, you can use monitoring if you wish.  Make sure that the model does not pick up any rouge data from the original unmodified input file.[/SIZE][/FONT]

[SIZE=3]The batch file is as follows (I’ve called it Prepare.bat)[/SIZE][/FONT]

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Monarch\Program\MonarchU.exe" "C:\SapNerd\Input\Input.txt" "C:\SapNerd\Input\Prepped.1" /cr "=" "/13/10"