7 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:11 AM by Olly Bond RSS

Pdf

Kayla _

Hi all,

I am very new to Monarch. I currently downloaded the trial version and I am testing it before I commit to purchasing the software.

I am having a lot of issues with PDF files. At my company, we want to use Monarch to convert all of our received invoices into one standardized format. We receive our  invoices in many different ways. For instance, some principals send their invoices in PDF, hard copy, excel, just to name a few. They are all very different in their format and design.

I am trying to create a separate template for each individual principal. I didn't think this would be such a complicated process since each individual principal typically sends their invoices the same way each time. However, with the PDFs, sometimes the fields are not located in the exact same position each time. I've tried using floating traps, but it doesn't seem to work. I have only VERY basic skills/knowledge with Monarch, so it could be user error.

Also, sometimes when I import PDFs, the text does not read correctly. For instance, periods are mistaken for commas, 5's look like S's, and this is also making it very hard to create a trap that will capture the correct information. I realized that I have to use OCR recognition within Adobe BEFORE importing the PDF file to Monarch in order to get Monarch to read anything. If I try to import a PDF into Monarch without using the OCR regonition within Adobe first, Monarch reads the PDF as a blank document. Is there any way to get Monarch to read these PDF's without using OCR recognition? And, is there any way to fix/change the characters that have been mistaken for the wrong character?

I know this is very basic stuff, so any help to get me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Kayla

• Pdf
          Olly Bond

Hello Kayla,

It sounds like you're doing everything right using OCR and then trying the floating trap, but it is tricky.