13 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:10 AM by Kamawell2 _ RSS

Problems with a Summary

Kamawell2 _

I've got an Excel sheet that I'm opening in Monarch, mainly in order to make use of the filter and summary functions.   When I come to define the summaries however I'm getting a dialogue box that just says "Internal Error." It doesn't seem to matter what I put in the summary, I get the message regardless.

The Excel sheet is not very big but there is an external lookup that points to another, rather larger Excel sheet.

I've spent two days trying to get the spreadsheet for the lookup table right and figured that once I was on to the Monarch bit I'd be home and dry!  I'm no expert when it comes to Monarch but I use it just about daily and haven't come across this before. I've tried the same thing on another PC that's got the same version of Monarch (Pro 10.5) and I get the same result.  Can anyone advise or suggest where I might be going wrong please?

Thanks

Andy

• Problems with a Summary
          Olly Bond

Hello Andy,

Have you tried saving the Excel file as CSV, which will remove any links to external files and just give you the data, and then opening this CSV in Monarch?

Best wishes,

Olly

Kamawell2 _

Hello Andy,

Have you tried saving the Excel file as CSV, which will remove any links to external files and just give you the data, and then opening this CSV in Monarch?[/QUOTE]

Hi Olly

I've tried that now but I get the same result.  There aren't any links in the Excel sheet itself - the lookup is done within Monarch.

Grant Perkins

Hi Andy,

Just to double check - you have exported the Excel content to a csv fiel, read in the csv as a 'database' that has lookup links back to the Excel spreadsheet. Is that correct?

Does the resulting table look ok and load without error - you mention the error in respect of the summary but not the table unless I missed it somewhere.