14 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:09 AM by Valerie _ RSS

Need some advice regarding automation...

Valerie _

Hi all,

I am a Monarch newbie, and I am stuck!  Basically, I am trying to figure out the best way to automate a process (with SSIS) that includes a call to Monarch (Pro 10.5).  Unfortunately, the things I've tried so far have not been successful. 

At first I tried the COM route, using an SSIS Script task to run a script similar to what is seen in the Programmer's Guide.  I have never worked with COM objects before, so I am just following examples on this one, but I was able to create a script that worked perfectly when the package was executed manually (using DTEXEC or in BIDS).  However, when I execute the package using a SQL Server Agent job, it throws the following exception at runtime: "Cannot create ActiveX component" and does not get past the GetObject() part of the script.

Here is the code I used in my Script task:

Option Strict Off

Imports System

Imports System.Data

Imports System.Math

Imports Microsoft.SqlServer.Dts.Runtime

Public Class ScriptMain

Public Sub Main()

Dim MonarchObj As Object

MonarchObj = GetObject("", "Monarch32")

If MonarchObj Is Nothing Then

MonarchObj = CreateObject("Monarch32")

End If

MonarchObj.Visible = False

openfile = MonarchObj.SetReportFile("Y:\ifchg2", False)

openfile = MonarchObj.SetReportFile("
      domain\dfs\MISData\Unprocessed\ifchg2", False)

If openfile = True Then

openmod = MonarchObj.SetModelFile("
      domain\dfs\mis\analyst\monarchIO\Models\ifchg2.xmod")

If openmod = True Then

MonarchObj.ExportTable("
      domain\dfs\MISData\Unprocessed\ifchg.txt")

End If

End If

MonarchObj.CloseAllDocuments()

MonarchObj.Exit()

Dts.TaskResult = Dts.Results.Success

End Sub

End Class

/code