13 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:07 AM by Olly Bond RSS

basic extract

karenTC _

I'm a newbie and have created a few exports successfully.  I have a report that has 4 columns of info.  The first column is a memo field that may be anywhere from one to 4 lines and always ends with a question mark.  The other three columns may or may not have information.  Basically the first column is a question and the other three are answers.  However, some questions have nothing in the answer columns, yet I still need that in the export.

I capture everything I need by using "blank field values" to end the last 3 columns, but it keeps splitting the question into multiple lines.  I've tried every option to end the field. 

The only marking I could do to capture my data, is an alpha character in the first character of the first column.  There is nothing else consistant.

• basic extract
          Olly Bond

Hello Karen,

Does your data look like this:

Question ... Answer 1 ... Answer 2 ... Answer 3

This is a ... 1 ... 2 ... 3

question ...

that might ...

have lots ...

of lines ...

This is a ... 4 ... 5 ... 6

question ...

that might ...

have lots ...

of lines ...

This is a ... 7 ... 8 ... 9

question ...

that might ...

have lots ...

of lines ...

/CODE

?

Defining the Question field as a memo and selecting end on "none of the above" would normally work, except that you're only able to trap on line 1, column 1, so it's picking up line 2 as a new detail. I think we might need to suggest a Prep routine. Is there anything consistent - like the tab or space characters to the right of the question?

Don't worry, if there isn't, we're almost certainly going to be able to fix this in two passes. What happens when there are no answers? Does the next question just run on?

Best wishes,

Olly

• basic extract
              karenTC _