9 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:06 AM by svandyk _ RSS

Concatenate data for similar lines

svandyk _

Hi,

I'm a newbie with v10.5.  We got Monarch to extract data from PDF timesheet files.  There is other data on the report but the data I'm concerned with is currently listed like this with one employee per page (the columns line up in the report):

Employee:     lname, fname

Date              In Punch        Out Punch

2/1/10             8:00 AM       11:00 AM

2/1/10           11:30 AM         6:00 PM

2/2/10             4:56 AM         8:00 AM

2/2/10             8:30 AM        11:00 AM

2/2/10           11:30 AM         1:30 PM  

What I want to end up with is the format below with a line for each employee/date combination that lists all punches for each day across the page.  An Employee can have 1 to 3 lines of punches per day.

fname    lname    2/1/10    8:00 AM    11:00 AM    11:30 AM    6:00 PM

fname    lname    2/2/10    4:56 AM     8:00 AM      8:30 AM   11:00 AM    11:30 AM    1:30 PM

I tried the logic in the Join fields together from multiple lines.  I can get the first step but can't get unique lines of fname lname and date with multiple lines of punches below.  My summary also came out with just 2 columns of punches and the values were null.  Please help...

• Concatenate data for similar lines
          Data Kruncher

I made up an employee name to append, as follows:

Name: Test Employee

Date   In Punch Out Punch

2/1/10  8:00 AM 11:00 AM

2/1/10 11:30 AM  6:00 PM

2/2/10  4:56 AM  8:00 AM

2/2/10  8:30 AM 11:00 AM

2/2/10 11:30 AM  1:30 PM /code

This tight collection presents a bit of a challenge in telling Monarch how to stop. To the point where I could not determine how to go about converting this in one pass (one model) to the format that you want. It just needs a bit more room to breathe, as it were, I believe.

To that end, I developed a two model solution.