3 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:06 AM by Terry007 _ RSS

Running a Model against multiple Reports

Terry007 _

Sorry I'm new to this.  I have a batch of reports 2 for each company that come in each month on a CD.  All the company reports are in the same format.   Each company has two reports call them C_EE_153 and C_EA_153  for one company and another company has C_EE_154 and C_EA_154....etc. 

I originally build a model with the first one in a particular months batch (C_EE_153 and C_EA_154).  I also created one single output Export .txt file which I wanted for the result of the model, filters...etc extractions.

Now I want to run the model against each of the paired reports on the CD and get a single Export .txt file out for each one of them.

I'd sort of like to have a report variable name and just change that and rerun it but being new to Monarch....I not sure how best to set it up to run against a batch of reports.....any suggestions?

Terry

• Running a Model against multiple Reports
          Olly Bond

Hello Terry,

You can do this by opening all the input reports at once (Monarch can handle up to 1024).

If you then create a calculated field Filename of the type Character, with the expression:

rsplit(File();2;"\";1)

this should return the filename. (File() on its own would return the whole path, e.g. "C:\documents\terry\C_EE_153.txt" instead of "C_EE_153.txt".)

Now using the split on key values option for summary exports in Monarch v10, it should be easy to use Filename as a key value, and to split the exports on that automatically.

HTH,

Olly

• Running a Model against multiple Reports
              Data Kruncher

Terry,

First off, don't be sorry: we were all new to this at one stage.

Secondly, this is an unusual and not at all intuitive challenge, for which Olly has present a very usable and easy to implement solution.