14 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:05 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Novice Question

Terry007 _

I have a report that is in the following format (simplified)  where A represents some text and the x's, y's, z's and t's represent numbers....

Being a novice, I selected the entire "area" as a detailed type and then selected each of the groups of numbers individually.  The output form is not what I need (data extracted is fed into another app).  I've shown the output desired at the bottom...can someone suggest how to achieve this?

Thanks

A

x1          y1

x2          y2

x3          y3

.           .

.           .

.           .

B

z1          t1

Z2          t2

z3          t3

.           .

.           .

.           .

Output table desired

A x1  x2  X3  .  .  .

A Y1  y2  y3  .  .  .

B Z1  z2  z3  .  .  .

B t1  t2  t3  .  .  .

• Novice Question
          Olly Bond

Hello Terry,

That looks like a classic multi-column region. Define an append template for A & B. Then turn on Multicolumn region (Report window, template menu). Define 2 columns to fit. Define a detail template and select one and only one of x1 or y1.

There are other tricks to cope if the data doesn't line up in columns nicely, or has other anomalies. And to get your output, you might need some tricks with a sort order and then a summary, possibly needing a two stage process.

But yes, it is possible.

Best wishes,

Olly

• Novice Question
              Terry007 _

I was thinking about the multicolumn but I was concerned about selecting only one of the sets of data.....not sure how to deal with the other set?  Would I create another template?  How then to run both templates against the data and get the one set output with multiple rows as desired?

• Novice Question
                  Terry007 _