6 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:05 AM by adonis _ RSS

Sample Formula-Based Formulas

adonis _

Does anyone have any sample formulas as I am new to Monarch and the syntax is a bit different from sql etc. 

Example:  Can you please provide an example to create the following:

#1)

branch_cd not in  200-299 and 400-499 ranges.

and CLH not in  22601, 22611

and Blotter not in 1U

#2)

CLH 13, 2039, 2108, 2116, 2450, 2669

and  branch_cd in 000-899, 954 & 992

and  blotter not in 1U

• Sample Formula-Based Formulas
          mdyoung _

Hi, Adonis!

Here's the formula-based filters that seem to work for me and I hope it's what you're looking for. There may be an easier way to do it, but this is the best way I could come up with.

Example #1:[/B]

(Branch_CD < 200 .Or. (Branch_CD > 299 .And. Branch_CD < 400) .Or. Branch_CD > 499)  .And. CLH .NotIn.(22601, 22611) .And. Blotter .NotIn.("1U")

/CODE

Example #2:[/B]

CLH .In.(13, 2039, 2108, 2116, 2450, 2669) .And. ((Branch_CD >= 0 .And. Branch_CD <= 899) .Or. (Branch_CD >= 954 .And. Branch_CD <= 992)) .And. Blotter .NotIn.("1U")

/CODE

Hope this helps,

Micheal

Grant Perkins

Hi adonis and welcome to the forum.

At a glance Michael's solution looks very appropriate.

Personally I would let Monarch do the compositing of the component filters by defining (and testing) each filter individually and then use the Compound Filter feature to put them all together.

Apart from making each filter component easier to create and test there is also the benefit that you end up with a library of pre-defined, simpler filters that can be combined in other ways very quickly should that be needed at a later stage. Adapting a filter to a different purpose (and testing it) also becomes somewhat quicker.

HTH.

Grant

adonis _

Thanks Grant & Mike

I have done compound filters and such before and they work too.  However when exporting into excel, it shows all filters.  How do you exclude specific filters from printing?