12 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:03 AM by Bob Yarnall RSS

V10 and PDF problems

Bob Yarnall

Monarch version 10 pro will not open ANY PDF file, not even files created by monarch.  I have tried to open files created by various versions of Adobe Acrobat, Office 2007, Kronos, and even files created by Monarch and when I try to open the file it says the file is not a valid PDF file and opens it as plain text which obviously is useless.  These are not offbeat files with graphics or complex data, just simple text files.  These are files I have been using since 2005 with version 8 without any trouble at all.

I have left two messages with tech support but I have not gotten any response.

Anyone else have this problem? Solution?

• V10 and PDF problems
          Grant Perkins

Bob,

Unless it's a Windows related glitch of some sort (which I have seen from time to time with PDFs - usually cleared by re-booting the PC) the only other 'fit' to the problem would be trying to use Monarch Standard to open the file. I wonder of the Monarch installation/registry entiries/licence information may have a problem?

Is this a recent upgrade to V10?

Grant

• V10 and PDF problems
              Bob Yarnall

This is an upgrade from V8.  Standard version does not do PDF files (at least V8 didn’t which is why I got the Pro version.)

Looked all through the registry and couldn’t find anything obvious.

Reboot hasn’t helped.  Install/repair has not helped.

• V10 and PDF problems
                  Grant Perkins

Standard not doing PDF is why I mentioned it. Was your V8 also a Pro version?

I have all sorts of problems just with the browser embeded PDF reader on one system, reading PDFs. It works for page one but will crash, sometimes, going for page 2. Nor so far had a problem with V10  - though to be fair I don't have it installed on THAT machine.

As background, have you got all of the V10 requirements and environment recommendations installed - .NET 3 for example?