13 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:03 AM by WinFXGuy _ RSS

How to spilt the file with Monarch 10?

WinFXGuy _

Hi All,

I am new to Monarch, so please bear with me

I am trying to split this file based on the following creteria.

[B]1SRTS03[/B]  indicates the beginning of a record. I need to capture all the lines starting from this tag until this tag reappears again.  This tag always occurs at the same location in the file.

I need to split the file based on School.  That means I need to create seperate files based on the School number.  This school number always occurs at the same location.  Also if possible export these files as PDF.

/LIST

Is this even possible with Monarch 10?

Any help is appreciated.

Regards

• How to spilt the file with Monarch 10?
          WinFXGuy _

Anybody, any feed back please?

Grant Perkins

Hi WinFXGuy and welcome to the forum.

If I understand you right you main objective at this time is to just split the report by school, leaving the format as it is. Is that correct?

That should be possible but I wanted to make sure that you had no different extraction plan before suggesting a solution to your question.

Grant

WinFXGuy _

Yes - I want to leave the format as it is.  Basically, the end result should be a file for each school. Also, there could be more than one occurance of school number in the original report file.

Grant Perkins

Yes - I want to leave the format as it is. Basically, the end result should be a file for each school. Also, there could be more than one occurance of school number in the original report file.[/quote]

OK, looking at the report in Monarch terms, if we were attempting to extract data from it, I see a list of schools in School number order and for some schools a student detail page.

Each school gets one report page UNLESS it has more than one student listed in which case each student gets a report page.