9 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:03 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

24 Hr Clock & Calculating Hours

Bob Green

:confused:I am new at this.  I have looked through the manual and also the help section of Monarch and cannot find how to convert times to a 24 hr clock, calculate where a time goes from PM time to AM time for second shift situations, and finally calculating the hours as elapsed time.

Can you help?

• 24 Hr Clock & Calculating Hours
          Grant Perkins

Hi Bob and welcome to the forum.

You know there is nothing like cutting your Monarch teeth on one of the more confusing aspects of data manipulation. It seems to be almost a requirement for new users of the software but you seem to have hit the top step with your need for time calcualtions - always an interesting challenge no matter what software is in use.

To some extent the answers to your questions will depend on where your starting point is and how the input data is presenting.

An early question here is whether or not you business systems already have the pre-calcualted values available? They may not be in the report your are working with but they may be elsewhere in another report that might have suitable ways to link the already calculated answers to data you need to work with. Given the potential complexity of date and time handling between systems with different core methods any source that candeliver pre-calculated answers is worth seeking. You might find that results are faster and more reliable because you are not re-inventing the wheel and the existing reports SHOULD be fully tested (and presumably fully supported) already.

If you have to do your own calculations look at the Help information on the Time Span function, date format options and be mindful that most of the calculations relating to dates and times depend on field be being calcualted as parts of a day (decimal style) based on the number of seconds in a day.