3 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:03 AM by cferguso _ RSS

Join fields together from multiple lines

cferguso _

Hello,

I am new to Monarch. I am using Monarch Pro v10. I have data that is on multiple lines that I need to concatenate.

The data is similar to the following:

Account #     Line #               Comments

1                   1                    aaaaaaaa

1                   2                    bbbbbbbb

1                   3                    cccccccc

2                   1                    dddddddd

2                   2                    eeeeeeee

I need to concatenate the Comments for each Account #.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

• Join fields together from multiple lines
          Data Kruncher

Hello and welcome to the forum!

Nothing like diving into the deep end for your first challenge!

As you've likely discovered, Monarch doesn't share data between records (or rows) like a spreadsheet does. So we need to devise an alternate solution here.

I've devised, and a have tested, a two-part solution for you. There may be another way, but it isn't jumping out at me just now.

First up, capture your Account number and the Comments fields for each line. This will give you five rows in your table with the sample you've provided.

Next, create a new summary. Use the Account as your key field. Double click the field name and on the Display tab, check the option to suppress duplicate values, and set the "insert blank lines after each key value change" to 1. OK all that.

Set the Comments field as an Item, and add the count as the only measure field.

This should give you something like this:

Account Comments count[/FONT]

1       aaaaaaaa 1[/FONT]

bbbbbbbb 1[/FONT]

cccccccc 1[/FONT]

2       dddddddd 1[/FONT]

eeeeeeee 1[/FONT]

/code

Now export the summary to a "Fixed-length Text" file.

This concludes the first part of the process.