5 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:03 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Network based Monarch

Cluiszer _

So I have been working with Monarch now for about 3 months and I am trying to automate some of the reports I run on a daily basis. 

My question is whether or not it matters if I am using a network based version of Monarch?  I have V6 downloaded on my computer, but V9 which I have been using lately is network based.  Thanks for your help!

• Network based Monarch
          Data Kruncher

Hello and welcome to the forum Cluiszer.

No, it shouldn't matter that you're using a network version.

I found a couple of posts which discuss [URL="http://www.monarchforums.com/showthread.php?t=2600"]storing your network logon ID in the registry[/URL] to avoid being prompted to log in when your automation runs.

Connecting remotely, such as when using Citrix software, seems to be more of a challenge, though.

HTH,

Kruncher

• Network based Monarch
              RalphB _

Cluiszer,

Since you have 2 versions of Monarch, you can run either one.  Just make sure each version is in its own directory.

If you are building and sharing models among other users, make sure the model you've created is compatible for their version.  Monarch added several new functions in V9 that will not work in 6.

• Network based Monarch
                  Cluiszer _

Thanks for the responses guys, So I do in fact use Monarch through Citrix, which seems to limit some of its capabilities (I could be completely wrong though). 

Also, does anyone know a good place where I can learn the basics of writing the codes necessary to automate some of this stuff.  I must admit MS-Dos was a little before my time so I never used that, and as a result I'm not so good at writing even the most basic line commands.  I have read through the manual, but I think I might need something a little more rudimentary than that.  Any ideas?

• Network based Monarch
                      Data Kruncher