5 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:03 AM by wendy! _ RSS

Last record truncated/data lost!

wendy! _

Not sure which details are relevant so I will briefly include basic details.

I get a file with approximately 5000 records, txt format, fixed width, 804 characters per line for each record, "packed" file where I must convert the data:

SAMPLE of unconverted data[/B]

00000000A00000000{00000000{00000000C

{=0

A=1

B=2 etc to 9

}=-0

J=-1

k=-2 etc to -9

I run the report through monarch to separate the records into fields and then import into Access and convert, and do all the reporting that is required with the file.

I have been doing this for several years, no problems. 

I recently upgraded to Monarch 9.0 - this may be relevant.

When I open the file in Monarch now, the final record at approximately 230 the "data" stops and the rest of the characters display as spaces in "report view", export as spaces, show up in "Table view" as spaces. (total character count for the record is still 804)

HOWEVER when I view the data in notepad or similar, the data is there - the final record is a complete record, all the way out to 804 characters.

This happened on 7 out of the last 11 months files and I do not see a difference on the files that had the "last record" problem and those that did not.

This makes me question the integrity of the data as a whole.

Does anyone have any clue what is going on?:confused:

• Last record truncated/data lost!
          wendy! _

Nobody has any ideas I guess...

sniff sniff:(

Grant Perkins

Hi Wendy! and welcome to the forum.