5 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:03 AM by RalphB _ RSS

First-time poster / long-time user

Domer1987 _

Hi Everyone!:D

I've been a Monarch Pro user on and off over the past 10 years.  I love the product.

My question is pretty straightforward: I'm struggling to extract address information from a little over 1,500 PDF files[/B].  I'm using Monarch Pro 8.02 and using the Postal Trap (I know I don't have too, but I'm "old school" and it's working.) I'm also using the "Address Blocks" functionality-- works great when I pick up address data.

My problem appears to be that some of the addresses I'm trying to extract do not begin in the same position in each PDF file.  As a consequence I'm not picking up all of the addresses.  I searched the threads and found posts to solve similar problems but none that are specific to my issue.  Is there any obvious solution to this problem which escapes me? There is at least one completely blank line above the address blocks, but I can't figure out how to use the advanced tab for "field starts on..." to make it work for me.

Can someone give me a hand or point me to a thread? Also, here's a bonus question: is there a limit to the number of PDF reports one can open[/B]? I selected all 1,500 at once but they didn't open.  I trimmed down the number and there were no problems.

Much obliged!

Murph

• First-time poster / long-time user
          Data Kruncher

Hi Murph, and thanks for joining us here.

1500+ PDFs... you're a brave fellow.

As you've found if you break that set up a bit, you'll be fine. You'll also find that Monarch handles large amounts of files better when reading a local drive rather than over a network connection.

As to the "not beginning in the same position" problem, do you mean that the addresses are shifting horizontally somewhat from file to file (hopefully), or rather vertically (not very likely but must ask)?

Kruncher

Domer1987 _