1 Reply Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:02 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Processing drawn tables in pdfs with variable records

esegura _

Hi there!

I'm in need of advice. I'm new to Monarch and I need to process a 1000-pages pdf file that looks like this:

[URL="http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3166/2938859794_aaf8eaf9dd_b.jpg"]Screenshot[/URL]

As you can imagine, this layout represents a challenge. To start with, those vertical lines seem like they won't make it to the text version in any form. Second, as you can see in the picture, even the headers are not aligned properly. Third, I'm seeing some variance in the number of spaces that Monarch is inserting when I create the text version. Like in the following example:

(on page 3)

Doe, John

(and then on page 629)

Doe, John

So, I can't even rely on the number of spaces. Can you folks here help me develop a strategy to address this problem?

Thanks in advance!

Ed.

• Processing drawn tables in pdfs with variable records
          Grant Perkins

Hi Ed and welcome to the forum.

Y'know it seems that 90% of the people who suddenly find themselves with Monarch as a new work mate also discover they have been dropped in at the deep end of the pool. Welcome to that club Ed!

PDFs are interesting beasts and looking at the relative complexity of the contents of your challenge you have one of the more interesting ones.

The report content looks familiar (though not in PDF form) from earlier posts so I wonder if any of the other members have already grappled with this one.

Some thoughts as a start.

1. What does the Adobe Reader make of the report if you get it to convert to text? (Try it with a recent version. If it looks Ok you are in with a chance.)

2. Have you experimented with the parameters over which you have manual control? If so what sort of results could you get?