4 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:02 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Export entire report to text

lany _

I think what I am trying to do is really simple, but I'm having a tough time figuring it out.  If someone could help me, I would really appreciate it.  I have a set of reports that comes in a prf format.  There are several reports in one file, so I can see the tree on the left of the different reports.  Due to the file size, I want to export one of them to a text or pdf file without applying any monarch models to it. I Just want to export the one report as is.  When I try to export, it exports the entire prf file to a pdf and it's entirely too big.  Is there a way I can limit the export to just that one report?  Thanks so much in advance.

• Export entire report to text
          lany _

I should mention that I am using version 9.  Also, I saw the post that had a similar issue and a batch was the solution.  I am a novice user and it seemed overwhelming, but I'm willing to dig in and figure it out if that's the only answer! Thanks again.

Grant Perkins

Hi lany and welcome to the forum.

Not too many questions around here about prf files so I'm pleased to see people still using that feature. I assume you need to separate the reports for some specific purpose where leaving them combined and using the rapid display and search facilities is not an option. Also that the prf files don't come with the model embedded?

As far as I can tell, other than highlight the pages you want and then cut and paste, your best option would be to select the report you want using the Tree entry or the Menu option (Window > Report > select which report you want ASSUMING that the prf file has been created in a way that actually identified the reports separately not just a name field from an aggregate report) and then use the PRINT option rather than export for you output. You can then print to a 'text' file or PDF (or something else) if you have a suitable 'device' set up.