4 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:02 AM by paulmcelhinney _ RSS

Create model for Excel input with multiple worksheets

paulmcelhinney _

Hi All,

I am new to Monarch and I have been looking into importing data from excel documents to DB2 (excel documents get uploaded through the web application).

I have learned about opening a report file and creating a model, and then creating a project and process with Datapump that I can call from my web application.

The only thing I am having problems with is how to open the excel document and create the model for extracting data from it. (I need the model for datapump to use) When I open it as a database it opens in table format and I cannot define a model to use to extract the data from the excel file in future.

Will I need to save the excel worksheets as prn files through my application first or is there another way??

Any help or information is greatly appreciated.

• Create model for Excel input with multiple worksheets
          Bill Watson

When you use the Open Database option and get to the table view, you can save the model as normal to keep your import settings. You can't define fields like you would a text report as the import wizard automatically picks up column headings etc from your source. You can of course edit these names in the table view, and hide columns you don't want - basically anything you would do in the table view of a text report.

To always pick up the same file, use the save project option. Monarch projects store information on the import files to use and which exports are required.

The only limitation with this is you can only have one excel file open at a time using this method. You can of course use external lookups to add additional data from excel files still but the Open Database allows you only one datasource.

You can use scripting to automate multiple loads using this method.