7 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:01 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Data "shifting" issue

cmlauer _

First off, let me say that I'm a Monarch newb.  I inherited the role of using Monarch from someone else on the team, but heretofore was able to just use the models that they created.  This is my first attempt at creating my own model and may be missing something very simple, so I apologize if I'm asking what may be a really dumb question.

I have a PDF of contract data that I'm looking to extract into MS Access.  The records that I'm trying to extract follow a pretty straight-forward formatting convention, but I'm having a whale of a time getting data extracted properly.  The model I made went something like this:

Header: Item/Qty/Purch Unit/Unit Price/Total Item Amount (these elements are always present)

Detail: Noun field (only part of columnar "body" that is always present); JUST first line (more on this later)

Append: Rest of the fields (ACRN, PR, etc.) except Descriptive Data; these fields are usually, but not always, present

Footer:  Descriptive Data (always present)

/LIST

The problem that I'm having is that when I go to table view, all of the data gets "shifted" down by one record.  For example, the Item 0204 record will have all of the append data from the 0203 record.

I also can't figure out how to make Monarch grab the additional lines that sometimes crop up for one of the fields.  For example, the Noun field is occasionally two lines long.  I can't just do a NOT ACRN trap because sometimes ACRN isn't present in a record and another element is next.  There's also the issue of the Descriptive Data being free form, with lots of line breaks.  If there were a way to have it grab everything until the next record, that would be nice, but it's really low priority relative to the other issues.