11 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:01 AM by fd201 _ RSS

How to use tags to get missing fields

fd201 _

Hi, I'm very new to Monarch so there may be something here which is blindingly obvious to everyone else, but i'm not getting it.

I've got a pdf file which i've bought into Monarch (v8.02), set up traps and created field properties for the containing data through a template. The problem i'm having is that the report is extracted from a source which doesn't store the data nicely. For example, if a sale contains more than one item, the items will be put into one record rather than multiple records. Monarch reads this fine, it puts the extra info such as a product on a new row. Problem with this is that the report window doesn't show any info preceding the additional stock numbers. Also when i add a few traps it misses the numbers i need, such as stock and product numbers. This could be due to the first column, which should contain the main reference number, being blank. Actually all but stock and product columns are blank. With some though the numbers will be picked up but will be put in the same field box as the previous number from that field, but i need these as seperate records.

What i'd like to do would be to take the data as it is, and if there are some missing fields, but the row as a whole isn't empty, then for the field above to be copied. I've tried the empty cells option in the field properties but i can't get it to do anything. If someone wants to tell me how to use it properly if it can fix this problem i'd be grateful. The data below is purely as an example. I've asked already if i can show even some modified data, so that no one would know what the original was, but i'm still not allowed. Some very much faked example data is all i can show. This would be an example of the report window, with the data below being in a Detail template.

Salenumber Stocknumber Product Price Supplier

123/34       S3456      RayGun  19.99  Sony