7 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:01 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Trapping adhoc extra line

hakru _

Hi,

I’m new to Monarch and is wondering if there is a solution to trap an occasional extra line. The extra line contains a comment refering to the prior detail line. I'm able to trap everything as needed but for the lines with no comments the previous comment is repeated until a new comment occurs.

1|Detail

2|Detail

3|Detail

3|Comment:”Some comment”

4|Detail

5|Detail

6|Detail

6|Comment:”Some comment”

7|Detail

8|Detail

I need a table:

1|Detail, Blank

2|Detail, Blank

3|Detail, ”Some comment”

4|Detail, Blank

5|Detail, Blank

6|Detail”Some comment”

7|Detail, Blank

8|Detail, Blank

Hope it make sense.

Thanks,

Hannes

• Trapping adhoc extra line
          Grant Perkins

Hi Hannes and welcome to the forum.

You have the usual 'Newcomer's" syndrome of needing something slightly above newuser level knowledge as soon as you start! Most people here seem to have the same experience. You are amongst friends.

Can I assume the the tag "Comments:" appears if there is a comment line?

If so, trap your details as I assume you already do and presumably that trap can be set to miss the Comments lines.

The, using the SAME TRAP as for the details template create an APPEND template. Paint the field for the comments as required. Right click on the field to get to the Advanced Properties. Set the 'Start Filed on' option to 'Preceding String' and make that string  "comments:" (without the quote marks.

You will then have an append template that auto resets with every detail template and only reports anything if the Comments field exists.

If the word Comments does not appear we may need another approach.

HTH.

Grant

hakru _

Grant,

Thanks for the welcome and quick response!

I am guilty as charged on the "Newcomer's" syndrome! I'm including an extract of the actual data here as I still can't get it to work.