8 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:01 AM by Nick Osdale-Popa RSS

Time Format Question

dssfaxman _

Hello everyone, I am new to Monarch and to this forum. I have had no luck finding an answer to my question so far. Brace yourselves for this one, I am using Version 4.05 and I need to set the format on my fields for time. I know that on newer versions the setting is Date/Time but there is no setting like this in v4. I need my table to show 16:00 as 4:00 pm. Does anyone know if there is a work around for this or am I out of luck until my company decides to update my software? Hope no one hurts themselves while laughing.

• Time Format Question
          Nick Osdale-Popa

Do a search for the number url=http://www.monarchforums.com/search.php86400[/url]. Not sure if any of those results will help, but it may give you a starting point.

• Time Format Question
              Data Kruncher

Having never seen v4 in action, I don't know what constraints you have in terms of available functions or even data types, but if you go with a "lowest common denominator" type of approach, the following might work for you.

Assuming that you extract your time (MyTime) as a Character field, build a TimePrefix field:

[SIZE=2]

if(val(left(mytime,2))=0,"12"+right(mytime,3),

if(val(left(mytime,2))>12,trim(str(val(left(mytime,2))-12))+right(mytime,3),mytime))

/SIZE[/CODE]

and a TimeSuffix:

[SIZE=2]

if(val(left(mytime,2))<12," am"," pm")

/SIZE[/CODE]

and a final Time field:

[SIZE=2]

TimePrefix+TimeSuffix

/SIZE[/CODE]

Will that do the trick?

• Time Format Question
                  dssfaxman _

Are these examples of expressions that I would enter using the filters? If this is not correct then where would I enter this code? The filter is the only area that I have seen with function code. As I said I am new to Monarch and I am trying to read the v6 manual to use v4. Thank you.

• Time Format Question
                      dssfaxman _