2 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:00 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Capturing data so it shows on the same row

Randybow _

I'm new to Monarch and have a problem with a report I am trying to set up the template for.

The report is a text file which has columns in it however under a row may be one or several rows of comments that are not in columns but go across 6 or 7 columns and are not always the same length. 

I'm able to set up the template to capture the columns and then an append template to capture only the coments but when I open the table window, the comments are in a separate column but not in the same row as the data they go to.  In some cases, it repeats.

I tried setting up the tree but even that didn't work.

Can someone please tell me what I am doing wrong?

• Capturing data so it shows on the same row
          Nigel Winton

Hi There and Welcome to the Forum

Have you realised that Appends work upwards, that is the data you are treating as an append will be append to the detail below it.

Header XXXXX

Data                YYYYY

Data will be your Detail trap and Header will be the first Append to it.

If you follow this you should find things will fall into place, if you attempt to use data below the detail field you will get the results you are seeing.

Let us know if this solves your problem, or if you need any further help. If you can post an example of you report you are working with that will help us to help you.

Regards

Nigel

• Capturing data so it shows on the same row
            Grant Perkins

The report is a text file which has columns in it however under a row may be one or several rows of comments that are not in columns but go across 6 or 7 columns and are not always the same length.