8 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:00 AM by jfrank _ RSS

Healthcare 835 Files and Monarch

jfrank _

Hello All! I recently inherit a position where Monarch was one of the tools in my arsenal, I admit that I am mostly self-taught but very exciteb about the possibilities I see in Monarch. I was especially excited to find the prep tool that will allow delimiters to be replaced with spaces so I've started looking at our Insurance Remits (835) files to see what information I can pull from them and I've run into a (small?) problem.

Each 835 file is comprised of several claims, each claim has at least one CPT code but might have several CPT code sections assigned to it (Easy enough to handle with detail/append models) but here's where it gets tricky: Each CPT code CAN have up to four group/reason codes. I was trying to make the CPT section the detail because it is consistently there, but those rascally group/reason codes are screwing things up!

CLP XXXXXXXXX                1                                 97            81                  12              XXXXXXXXXX 23                             

NM1 QC                       1                                 ANDERSON      X          H                                   MI              XXXXXXXXXXXX     

NM1 IL                       1                                 ANDERSON      XXXXX      M                                   MI              XXXXXXXXXXXX   

NM1 74                       1                                                          H                       

DTM 232                      20071225                                       

DTM 233                      20071225                                       

SVC HC>99283                 97                                81                       1                       

DTM 472                      20071225                                       

CAS CO                       45                                16