2 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:00 AM by Gareth Horton RSS

Help With VB Script to search Input File

ipickwoad _

I have visited this site many times and found the information exceedingly helpful. This is my first time posting.

I have been using Monarch Pro and Datapump for about 9 months now and I love it. I work in an environment with hundreds of users on a in-house developed system written in dL4 working on a SCO UNIX platform. The popularity of “PUMPING” files is growing very quickly and I need to find a solution that will help input file confusion. We have added an option that a user can enter “PUMP” when asked for a printer and the report is then FTP’ed to a directory which is monitored by Monarch and will run the appropriate project. Here is the rub … many users want the same report and I need a way to discern who is sending it and create the appropriate email distribution. I have asked all users to provide me with a 3 digit code which I have attached to their login, so when user XYZ runs stock status report the output file becomes “xyzstockstatus.txt”. I have been able to create scripts that will email according to filters etc…

if (item.recordcount>1) and (item.filter = "Jefferson") then log.AddDistribution_Email(item.location,namesjefferson,"automatedreports@novamerican.com","","Ready To Ship NSPC","for file " + item.location,True)

But I am unable to find the right “variable to scan” to find the 3 letters. In a perfect world I would search the export file and associate the file with a user.

Hope this is not too confusing. Thank You

• Help With VB Script to search Input File
          Steve Caiels

Hi,

Welcome to the new forum. I can’t believe I’ve beaten Grant to the first reply . . . Sorry Grant

This script writes the full path of the input file(s) to c:\datapump\check.txt. You can just set a variable rather and chop it up rather than write it out if you like. But this was the easiest way I could think of testing it!