3 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:00 AM by Neal makely RSS

Administration

mcpaytas _

Are there any documents on administering data pump? or tutorials?

Like how to access the remote admin stuff?

How can I give a user access to data pump so they can do admin stuff?

I have never used this software and don't have a clue if you couldn't tell  smile.gif[/img]  so any guidance would be much appreciated.

• Administration
          Neal makely

Ditto.  I've looked on the Datawatch site, found the tutorial, printed out all the Help files, install docs, etc.  I don't see much about the Remote Admin portion or the Web Service portion. 

Is it just me or is the Web Service a base install, serious assembly required?  I'm not a web person (other than basic HTML) and I'm still learning to be db person, so it could be I'm just missing the point.

I've been to Lowell and gone through the Data Pump class, and I still don't know how I'm supposed to allow a user (or users) to administer data pump without either physical access to the server (a definite NO) or Terminal Services.  This isn't addressed in the docs as far as I can tell.

Help?

Neal

• Administration
            Gareth Horton

Hi

Here is a quick guide to the resources on remote admin.

First step is to make sure you have Data Pump 7.01, the update for each component is available from the downloads page.

If you have Terminal Services, then it will be fine to log on (Remote Admin Mode) and administer Data Pump as you would normally, as if you were on the server itself, with the necessary access rights.

In most cases, this will have faster performance than using the Data Pump remote admin.

Of course, the limit with terminal services is 2 concurrent connections, so it is not always feasible.

If you want to use the Data Pump remote admin feature:

Install instructions are in the "Installation Guide" (PDF & HTML)

As a quick guide -

1. Install web service on Data Pump machine

-