4 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 10:00 AM by Bill Watson RSS

Script Help

Rags _

I am wondering if anybody knows of any good resources that would help getting started using the Script tab for a XPRJ project file.  There is a lot that I would like to do with the script, but I am new to using VB in this way.  Any suggestions?

Thanks.

• Script Help
          Gareth Horton

Hi

First things first, work out what software you have at your disposal.

If you have  Visual Studio.NET[/b] , then you can use this to prototype your script, using all the features this offers, plus the excellent documentation and samples.  Then you can copy your code into Datapump, add the necessary namespace references and test it.

However, this is not necessary.  You can use any text editor, or the XPRJ Script editor itself to write the code, which is what I do most of the time.

However, if you go the "lightweight" route, then downloading the  .NET 1.1 Framework SDK[/b]  is a must.

This includes all the necessary documentation for the .NET Framework, so that you can find out what methods and properties are available to accomplish your desired task.

At the time of writing (Microsoft URLs seem to have a short shelf life) this could be found  [url="http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=9b3a2ca6-3647-4070-9f41-a333c6b9181d&displaylang=en"]here.[/url]

The next place to look is the  Datapump Scripting Help file[/b] .

This contains all the information on the methods and properties available within Data Pump.  Additionally, there are also a few code examples to help you on your way.

Note that once you have the .NET 1.1 SDK or Visual Studio.NET documentation installed, certain items in the Data Pump Scripting help link in to that.

For example, if you go into the Data Pump Scripting Help, select JobLog Class and click on System.Object, this integrates with the .NET Framework help.