11 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:59 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Trapping fields of inconsistent lengths

Carrie McCall

I'm new to Monarch, and I'm trying to put our daily wires (we are a credit union) into a database using Monarch to separate the fields because there are inconsistent field lengths.  Each record has some manadatory fields which are at the beginning of the record are of a set length.  Then there are fields that are not mandatory and appear only if data has been entered which creates my problem.  Example:

02FT0001  P 100020020613F1B0112D000001000000140000123456789ROBINS FEDERAL CU001123456789HBRSTONE CU TACCTRD1234567RONALD ANCDEI RONALD ANDITH                                                                                02FT0002  P 100020020613F1B0112D000002000000075000123456789ROBINS FEDERAL CU002*123456789GLOBAL CU SPOKCTRD123456 CKGABCDEFGH T IJKL* ABCDEFGH T IJKL  These are actually 2 lines.  The lines do not wrap but once you get to field the lengths are inconsistent and not necessarily will each line have the same fields.  I have good trapping characters for each field with the fields divided by , but I keep running into problems trying to separate the inconsistent fields in my template to get them to line up.  Can anyone help me with this??  Thanks!!!

• Trapping fields of inconsistent lengths
          Grant Perkins

Carrie,

I think that this MAY call for "Voodoo Monarch" techniques and possibly a little bit of MSRP program processing depending upon what you want to get out of the record data string.

Get the fields you can at the beginning of the line where they are consistent.

The take the rest of the line as a single field and work out how you might be able to split it up into the fields you need using functions like LSPLIT, RSPLIT, INSTR and so on.