2 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:59 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

From many reports into one report?

isomaniac _

I am a newbie.

I have 6 different reports. The data I want are from all these 6 reports. Assume I need one record from each report. So from Report-A I will find Data-A and from Report-B I will find Data-B etc.

Can I ask Monarch to extra all these 6 data from 6 reports and then combine into one new report?

Thanks.

• From many reports into one report?
          Greg Goodman

It's easy enough to do what you need as long as there is a common field to a collapse a final summary to...and if you have to do this manually, it want be much fun - definitely calls for AutoScript or Datapump. I'm sure there are other

ways to approach this but...

On approach would be to build 6 models that each have 7 (or however many) fields, 1 for the "key" item and 6 identical fields for the 6 different 'elements' you need. On the 1st Model, trap the "key" and the data element and add 5 calculated fields that are empty ["" for string or 0 for numeric]. Order the fields "Key" and 1 thru 6 in table view and output to a new text file. Repeat for 2nd Model except the 'data element from the 2nd report will be in column 3 (the 2nd data element column) and column 2 (data element 1) and column 4>7 will be the empty calculated fields- append this to 1st output etc, etc.

You must make absolutely cetain outputting to fixed length that the display width on each of the 7 fields is identical by position in each model (or you can learn this the hard way).

Once all 7 reports are output into one, create a final model for the combined data trapping (hopefully) on the "key" element in column one (in this example)

Hope this helps

• From many reports into one report?
            Grant Perkins

Hi,

A couple of questions.

Which version of Monarch do you have access to?