6 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:59 AM by Dianne Hardin RSS

FILTERING

Dianne Hardin

I'm trying to create a filter on a field where I can filter out, i.e.,  -MA or -PB.  How can I write this?  Please be specific because I am somewhat new to filtering.

• FILTERING
          Dianne Hardin

I want to remove the entire field.

• FILTERING
            Dianne Hardin

The name of the field is WARD AT DISCHG.

Here is a sample of the ward names

WARD AT DISCHG

2A MED-MA

3B MED-MA

3B MED-MA

52S1 SCI-

23H MED-M

3B MED-MA

23H MED-M

7-N MED-J

7-N MED-J

3B MED-MA

If any of the wards in this field have a suffix of either -MA, -PB, -M or -P, I don't want that row on my report.  I do want the rows that have a dash with nothing following and -J.

I'm still pretty new at Monarch and have learned the little that I know through the user manual that came with the software.  I usually experiment and can manage to make a great Model.  I've run across this before where I want to eliminate a field that contains something.  This time I finally threw in the towel and asked the experts.  Thank you so much for your time and patience.

• FILTERING
              Grant Perkins

Hi Dianne,

You have a couple of options for direct filtering. They would be the same if you used an intermediate 'working' field for filtering purposes. The choice is entirely open and to me depends upon how complex the selections may get and whether multiple combinations might be required at some point.

If multiples I would probably consider calculated fields to identify the criteria of the data that will allow me to folter so that I can more easily combine them into compound filters (I am assuming you have Version 8) later.

If it will remain simple, no real benefit to doing that.