4 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:58 AM by Gillian _ RSS

Text wraps to new line

Gillian _

Hi everyone,

I have what's probably a very simple problem, but since I'm new to Monarch I just can't figure it out.  I'm working with a report that has a record for every employee, and since some employee names are long, their first name will wrap to the next line.  It ends up looking a bit like this:

[font="courier"]Washington, George            64      16V

ID: 999999

Jefferson, Thomas             80 

L.

ID: 999998                                800

Wilson, Woodrow               80   6

ID: 999997  /font[/quote]I need to be able to capture the names.  I can get the last name with a floating trap, taking all the text that comes up to ", ".  I can also get the first line of the first name using this same floating trap, but of course I can't pick up the second line of the first name using the same trap.

Any insight would be very much appreciated.  Sorry if this has come up before, I did try searching for similar topics first.

Thanks!

-Gillian

• Text wraps to new line
          Grant Perkins

Hi Gillian,

This is one way there could be many.

Trap the ID line as your detail line, for which you may as well use the "ID" as the trap.

Crteae an append trap for the name line. Mark the appropriate fields. For the Name filed make a field as wide as the report allows on a single line. Right click the fields to get to "Field Definition". Select "Options" and change "End Field On" to 'minimum action only'. This will create a multi line block field. Odd spacing though perhaps with that sort of spacing on the second row.

If  you need to reformat the name look at the LSPLIT and RSPLIT functions and possibly some of the other mannipulation functions available. I would not use the floating trap for this though it is an interesting idea but may not be reliable in all records. Not needed really.