5 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:58 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Calculating Time Field

MelissaM _

Hello,

Forgive me, I am VERY new to Monarch.  I am trying to take a time field and if it is between a certain time, give me a certain time.  For example:

Entry Time

07:54:54

08:42:38

08:54:20

09:03:59

So, from here, I want all times between 08:00:00 and 08:59:59 and put a label of 8:00:00 on it.. and for every other hour with the correct label.  So it would look like this:

Entry Time

07:54:54  |  07:00:00

08:42:38  |  08:00:00

08:54:20  |  08:00:00

09:03:59  |  09:00:00

I was thinking of a calulated field and I tried a few things, nothing turned out right.  How would I go about doing this?

• Calculating Time Field
          Grant Perkins

Melissa,

Assuming you have version 8 Monarch AND that your Entry Time field properties make it a Date/Time field Type with Time format, the following formula would be one way to do what you want.

SecondsToChar(Hour()*3600)

Your calculated field will need to be defined as a Character type and General format for this forumal to work. I have assumed, to keep things simple, that a Character display will be all you need. If that is not correct or you are using a version of Monarch without the required functions for the formula above, let us know and we can seek other options.

• Calculating Time Field
            MelissaM _

Hello Grant and thanks for the reply!  I am actually using Monarch Version 5.00.  I'm sorry I didn't state this before.  I did, however, try your formula and it stopped in front on "Hour" and said "Invalid Term".  Any other ideas?

Thanks soooooo much,

Melissa

• Calculating Time Field
              Grant Perkins

Originally posted by MelissaM:

I am actually using Monarch Version 5.00.  /b[/quote]Melissa,

Hmm, the previous formula definitely won't work as it uses functions and features introduced after V5.