3 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:58 AM by Mike Urbonas RSS

Listing Duplicate items only

glregez _

I have created a table with inventory locations and item numbers.  I need to identify the items in location that are similiar. For this dicussion lets say if the first 3 digits of the item number are equal we will display the line. Its kind of the opposite of eliminating duplicate records, I want to only list the duplicates.

example  (Table)

Location      Item

1         100-1

1         200-1

2         100-1

2         100-2

2         200-4

The report should only show the location 2 with the 100-1 and 100-2  Duplicate item (first 3 digits) at this inventory location.  This is my first attempt at Monarch. I'm using V5.

• Listing Duplicate items only
          Mike Urbonas

The Summary window of Monarch can do this for you.  Your example is a little tricky because you want to match records based on Location plus[/b] the first three characters of the Item.

So I would start by creating the following Calculated Field in your Table, to bring the Location and first three characters of the Item into one field (we'll call it Location and Item Code):

Location+LEFT(Item,3)

which will result in a column as follows:

Location and Item Code

Now, go into the Summary window, click Edit -> Define Summary.  (BTW, if you have never created a summary in Monarch before, take some time and look over the online help - Chapter 3 The Summary Window.  As its name suggests, Monarch's Summary window takes all the data from the Table window and summarizes it together in some useful way for you.)

Next, Select "count" as your Summary Field and select the following fields as Key fields IN THIS ORDER (from first to last):

Location and Item Code

Item

Then, double click on Location and Item Code under "Key Field."  Click on the Matching tab.  Click on the following radio buttons:

-- Summary Field

-- is at least

and then type in the number 2 next to that.