3 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:57 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Multiple line report help

richardCFI _

I am new to Monarch (version 7) and am having trouble extracting the extra detail lines from the following report. There may be up to 9 extra detail lines. But there is no blank line before the next Invoice line so I am having difficulty getting the "End Field On" to end at the right time. Also, I cannot decide how to trap the extra lines because they start at different positions and have no unique identifying information.

[font="courier"]  9  18-12-01  INV   56860  01          500.15         1.40       501.55

9  01-02-02  INV   57331  01          417.61         1.39       419.00

MR. MARK FOYLE                                                                               

SPECIAL COMPANY

27151, GOVT DUTY, MEMO & ARTS, REGISTER                                                                               

SPECIAL COMPANY FORMATION - FEES                                                                               

FOYLE RUN

9  04-02-02  INV   57360  01          201.76        35.55       237.31

/font[/quote]Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

• Multiple line report help
          Grant Perkins

Hi Richard and welcome!

I think your report is going to give you some headaches trying to extract what you want in one pass. If you had a blank line between records (I assume that each line starting with a 9 and then a date is an individual record?) I think I could offer a couple of interesting ideas to try but as it is I think you are stuck with a single line detail template.

So I'm going to suggest a 2 stage process and hope that you have V7 Pro. so that you can use some external lookup features.

Think of the report as 2 separate reports. One has the obvious lines of detail, the other has the extra text lines. We need to separate them.

That will allow us treat the process as 2 unique operations.