4 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:57 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Extracting only summary pages

Markco _

New to Monarch. Trying to extract only summary pages (18) scattered throughout a sales report (400 pages). Each summary page is by Sales person and is a single page at the end of their detail section. I think I have a unique, or close to unique, way to identify the pages but can't see how to then get the entire page as this only identifies a line on the page. This seems like it should be straight forward but, as I said, I'm new to Monarch and I sure don't see it. Any help for the newbie would be appreciated.

Thanks

• Extracting only summary pages
          Grant Perkins

Hi,

There are two separate concepts to recognise here, namely the TEMPLATE and the TRAP.

The TRAP allows you define a unique (hopefully)line which occurs one or more times in the document.

The TEMPLATE is something that connects the TRAP to the SAMPLE LINES and which defines a line or a number of lines - some possibly above the trap line - where the data you want to extract are stored. It also contains the definitions for the fields to be extracted.

For most reports it is likely that the number of lines allowed in the SAMPLE would cover a complete page. Therefore is you summary does not cover more than a page you should be able to map the fields on the summary page within a single SAMPLE.

I suppose it is possible that the summary page has multiple summary sections in which case your trap needs to allow you to work within the number of lines in each section.