6 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:57 AM by KLR358 _ RSS

Record Data in Columns Instead of Rows...  Need Advice

KLR358 _

Hi There,

I'm a newbie at this and need some advice.  I have a file that contains the following (comma delimited):

Day,Farm0,Farm1,Farm2,Farm3...

This is what people would call a crosstab.  What I want to do is take the data in the Farmx column and place it into a series of records for input into my database.  The number of farms is actually greater than 100, so there are a lot!  A row orientation looks straightforward, but the column orientation like the above looks like it might be more complicated.  I need it denormalized as my input routine requires it in the format below.

The desired result would be:

Farm,Day,Qty

Farm0,0,28

Farm0,2,101

Farm0,3,153  

Farm1,0,16

Farm1,1,16

and so on... 

I could write some vba in Excel to transpose these to rows, but if Monarch can do this, then all the better.

Thanks,

Kevin

• Record Data in Columns Instead of Rows...  Need Advice
          Grant Perkins

Hi Kevin and welcome to the forum.

I think we could be struggling here. Especially back at version 5 standard level - however nothing is impossible, just difficult to achieve sometimes.

In later versions the Multi-Column Region concept was introduced and would sort of help if the input file was fixed width rather than delimited. (There were some utility programs available back in v5 for manipulating files to make them easier to work with, more recent releases have the Monarch Utility to do the same things. On  of the programs allowed the sort of change required here.)

However in the Multi-Column Region in V9 does not expect to be dealing with 100 columns in a single report. So it would work but would require 3 (iirc) models, all the same except for the positioning of the columns, to extract the data.

All three extraction could be gathered into an exported file and then analyzed with another monarch model to deliver the result you need.