2 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:57 AM by ijf _ RSS

Detail trap help with field not always present

ijf _

Hello,

I am new to Monarch and am using Monarch Pro v9 on Windows XP.

I have been struggling with this trap for a few days and thought I would post. I have a field that varies between 2 and 3 lines. It is my detail template. The problem I am having is that if it is 2 lines there is no blank line before the next template. I would like to capture the NOTE field on its own when it is present. I have a manual work-around just for the very short term which is to go in and add a blank line when there are only 2 lines... If this is a potential solution, I am not sure how to automate that process, so I would be interested in either a trapping solution or a file prep solution. I am able to trap other fields that are actually multi-line, but this one either exists or it does not so I am not sure how to trap a start and end on it.

I would appreciate any ideas.

Thank you,

Ivy

Sometimes it is 2 lines like this (followed by the next appended template line):

[font="courier"]0                 * MEAS. MONITORING DATE:   05/31/07  COMP24                                 MG/L                   3.85          *    

•                                    02/30                                                                       *    

0  WXYZ  FINAL    12345                 0 YYYYYYYYYYYY GRAB                   ******   ****** SU        6.0      DELMON   9.0              /font[/quote]And sometimes it is 3 lines like this (followed by the next appended template line):

[font="courier"]0                 * MEAS. MONITORING DATE:   05/31/07  GRAB                                   SU                               7.6 *    

•                                    02/30                                                                       *    

• NOTE: SOME MORE INFORMATION IS HERE                                                                            *