3 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:56 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Batch file blunders.

Jeff S

Hello,  I appologize ahead of time for being a Monarch "Newbie".  Please forgive me if my questions is too basic.  I have a report/model that contains a run time parameter.  I've got is set to automate with the following batch file script:

X:

cdProgra~1Monarchprogram

Monarch M:PAMClientAAMEOMFilesBankBal.txt M:PAMClientAAMEOMFilesMonarchTemplatesBankBal.mod M:PAMClientAAMEOMFilesExportFilesBankBal.xls

However I would like to know is it possible to include a response to the run-time paremter in this fashion?  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks.

Jeff S.

• Batch file blunders.
          Grant Perkins

Hi Jeff,

Welcome and may I say that this doesn't sound like a normal newbie question at all. Not the sort of question I would have been asking when I was a newbie for example. I didn't even look at automation for several months!     

Which version of Monarch are you using?

Is this a user initiated interactive automation or are you scheduling for an automated process with no human intervention?

If it is a fully automated requirement and you have a Monarch Pro version, the easier way of getting a daily variable into play might be to have an external lookup to a file that can be maintained daily as required with the value for the next run. Or maybe even and internal lookup if the selection criteria is something that can be forecast for each run and could be set up with an IF() formula.

Just thinking aloud pending your information.

Hope this helps in some way so far.

Grant

Originally posted by Jeff S:

Hello,  I appologize ahead of time for being a Monarch "Newbie".  Please forgive me if my questions is too basic.  I have a report/model that contains a run time parameter.  I've got is set to automate with the following batch file script:

X:

cdProgra~1Monarchprogram