2 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:56 AM by DavidS _ RSS

Address blocks

DavidS _

I've been using Monarch for more than 5 years (currently using Pro version 8.01), and I'm a big fan, but I've never explored your forum. It looks like a really useful tool. Now to my question:

I often have to parse "free form" address blocks; these address blocks sometimes have the attention name at the beginning of the address, and sometimes at the end; the addresses have variable numbers of lines. Most of the attention names are identifiable with a prefix such as "c/o" or "Attn:".

This is most problematic when the name is at the end of the block, because it tends to be interpreted as a country or a city (usually flagged with an error code).

Is there a way to identify these fields?

Thanks in advance for everyone's advice.

• Address blocks
          Grant Perkins

Hi David and welcome to the forum!

We seem to be having a rush of Address Block questions these past few days and weeks. I'm wondering whether it might be useful to have a dedicated group thread for a while so that people can gather Address identification problems and solutions together for a knowledge exchange.

I don't think addresses can ever be identified completely 100% of the time, partly due to natural variability in the address structures and partly due to the human factor, rounds of data conversions and so on.

I tend to think that there are a couple of options for an approach.

One says - "I get an xx% success level. It's good enough for me and is unlikely to be bettered even by visual scanning by humans."

The other says - "Any wrong records are no good to me - I need everything 100% OK."

If you have known errors that are identifiable, predictable and likely to occur fairly regularly (and be a source of a serious enough problem to require intervention) you might need to consider including some conditional handling.