7 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:56 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

Floating data question

kmpirish _

Hello,

I'm new to using Monarch and I've run into a situation with my report that has me stumped.  Below is an excerpt (edited for privacy) which contains two records:

[font="courier"]07/01/195002/14/20071546  57  02/15/2007      1234561A00736701 13NNN0376FEOSSOLO                                                  

HAN                                                      3310 MAIN STREET              APARTMENT 1013                        

ANYWHERE                 MD22222     112233      9HR                                                                            

05/20/194002/08/2007203   67            654321      PP00110197 2        MEOEJONES                                                  

INDIANA                                                      1234 FIRST STREET              (MAILING ONLY)                        

ANYWHERE                  MD22222     3322110     8HR                                                                               

/font[/quote]To orient you to the data - the first three lines are Han Solo's record and the second three are Indiana Jones'.

I need to extract Han's and Indy's medical record number (MRN) from this data.  The MRN is in the first line of each record; in the example above, Han's is 123456 and Indy's is 654321.

I tried a floating trap, but I couldn't get it to work - it picked up other numbers as well.  I had a difficult time with this, especially because not all of this data is delimited (for example the "13NNN0376FEOSSOLO" in Han's record represents 7 different pieces of information).

The closest I've come to meeting my needs is by using two templates.  I successfully get my data trapped that way, but that leads me to problem two: I need these data to be one field in the Table View.  For example:

[font="courier"]LastName      MRN

Solo          123456