5 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2014 9:56 AM by Grant Perkins RSS

HL7 Messages

crt4834 _

I recently purchased Monarch and would like to use it to parse HL7 messages. The HL7 messaes are in a text log file, and the file also includes other information.

When I open the text file in Monarch, I don't see the complete HL7 message.  I'm guessing I need to do something to the file using the Prep utility but have no idea what I need to do.  I tried using the Utility that prepares EDI files but it wouldn't work, even when I specified the delimiters and separators. 

Can someone please point me in the right direction?  Thanks.

• HL7 Messages
          Data Kruncher

Hi Carolyn,

Last summer there was a  [url="http://mails.datawatch.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=1;t=001289#000000"]similar discussion here[/url] on HL7 files. Unfortunately there was not a clear solution posted to the problem at the time.

A quick Google of parsing HL7 files (with which I have zero experience) didn't turn up much concrete information either. This basically reinforces the notion quoted on the web site in the other thread which eluded to all formatting standards being optional. Some help, huh?

The only other item I would  speculate /i  on is that there could be an embedded end-of-file character within your file, and that  could[/i] be the reason that you don't see the entire message in Monarch. It would read the end of file character and stop loading the remainder. Just a guess though. That said, I can't imagine why someone would purposefully build a file with that structure.

HTH,

Kruncher

• HL7 Messages
            Grant Perkins

Originally posted by crt4834:

When I open the text file in Monarch, I don't see the complete HL7 message.   /b[/quote]Carolyn,